Lasik Surgery: One Month Later

October 21, 2010 § 1 Comment

Before my update, I want to share a story. A few months ago, I started to notice brown spots on my shower sponge. Standing in the shower, I examined them closer and realized they were tiny brown bugs. Disgusted, I threw the sponge away. Ethan’s sponge didn’t seem to have any bugs on it, but I wasn’t going to take any chances, so I threw that one away, too. I replaced the sponges, but they were back a few days later! I tore threw the house washing bedding and examing the apartment for these bugs, but I still only noticed them on the shower sponges.

A few days after Lasik, I examined them again. It turns out those “bugs” were the exfoliating beads from my brown sugar shower gel. I had never been able to see properly in the shower before because I couldn’t wear my glasses in the shower!

That story reminds me why Lasik was the right choice for me. However, one month after my surgery things still aren’t perfect. My left eye, which was almost 20/20 before, is about 20/25 now. Eyes can fluctuate for one to three months after surgery, so I guess I was having a bad left eye day when I went in. My hope is that when everything evens out, it’s back to 20/20.

My night vision still leaves something to be desired, too. It is better than it was, but I still get halos and glares off cars, and it’s harder than before to distinguish objects in the dark. I’m still not driving to unfamiliar places at night; I probably could, but I feel safer sticking to the places I know.

The only other annoyance is dryness. The dryness was a lot better about two weeks after the surgery, but then the autumn weather kicked in. It’s very controllable with eye drops about every hour or two, but it would have been nice to have the surgery farther away from winter so I didn’t have to deal with it.

Anyway, I’m still happy with the surgery but excited for my vision to even out and the night driving to get better.  I’m also beginning to suspect I’m not going to develop the ability to shoot lasers from my eyes.

Click here to see my two week update.

1 day after

1 day after Lasik

1 month after

1 month after Lasik (the brown spot has always been there)

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Lasik Surgery: One Month Later

  • sundryandco says:

    Maybe once you are fully recovered, you can look into (wordplay!) getting laser shooting modifications done on your eyes. I wonder what eye laser colours will be trendy in 2012…I’d go for the standard red laser with a neon tint. That’s what Superman would do.

    Best of luck and I hope it all works out well for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lasik Surgery: One Month Later at Unusual Brood.

meta

